1.40.655 Fixes.

Discuss almost anything and everything.

Moderator: Moderators

1 Thu Mar 24, 2011 3:16 pm

Patch including all these fixes here:
http://www.annihilation.info/downloads/1.40.655_sp1.zip

I'm trying to get a complete list of all the fixes 1.40 needs to be serviceable.

So far I have:
Master server patch.
Code: Select all
$Server::CurrentMaster = "0";$Server::MasterAddressN0 = "t1m1.tribes0.com:28000 t1m1.masters.tribesmasterserver.com:28000 t1m1.pu.net:28000 skbmaster.ath.cx:28000 kigen.ath.cx:28000 t1m1.masters.dynamix.com:28000";


Video Lag fix. $pref::screensize = 1; For you ati users. Fixes sporadic video lag.

The open call map fix <-- Link. Information.

Full screen fix:
Lemon wrote:delete or comment out (//) line 332 in console.cs

this is 331 and 332

Code: Select all
// GDCHACK : don't go fullscreen on startup (currently borked in webpage)
   $pref::VideoFullScreen = "FALSE";


Flag hud fix:
Lemon wrote:This fix applies to players on active mode servers like US Base and The Community.

  • The built-in 1.40 flag hud doesn't update team scores when you join a server mid-game.
  • In config\Core\Team.cs make the following change.


Instead of this:
Code: Select all
function remoteTeamScore( %sv, %team, %score ) {
   //$Team::Score[%team] = %score;
}



Make it look like this:
Code: Select all
function remoteTeamScore( %sv, %team, %score ) {
   $Team::Score[%team] = %score;
}


IceridgeLT Fix:
opsayo wrote:go into lt/missions

iceridegLT.zip -> iceridgeLT.zip


HUD position fix:
GreyHound wrote:
Code: Select all
/*
   Huds only get respositioned when PlayGui is loaded,
   so starting and leaving without playing will love up your hud setup.
   
   This standalone fix prevents that.
   
   Make sure this is loaded by
   a) naming it  "HudMessupFix.acs.cs" and put into config/modules ... idiot proof way.
   or b) putting into autoexec.cs
   or c) exec it some other way
   
   GreyHound / Hunden
*/

$HudMessupFix::DoExport = false;

//catch the case that restores the huds, if that happened, it's save to export them later
function HudMessupFix::OnGuiOpen( %gui ) after Hud::OnGuiOpen {
   if ( %gui == "playGui" )
      $HudMessupFix::DoExport = true;
}

//make sure the shizzle just exports under our conditions
function HudMessupFix::OnExit() before Hud::OnExit
{
   if($HudMessupFix::DoExport) //fine, don't halt
      return;
   
   echo("Sucky behavior detected and prevented.");
   halt;
}


.... damn this got annoying over time.

Feel free to do the fix at it's source, in "core/Hud.cs" ... it's basicly a copy paste if you know what you're doing





Not really necessary, but nice changes to make:
$pref::playerfov = 110; Default 90. Increases field of view to compensate for wide screen monitors.
$pref:terrainlodamount = 0; Default is 1. Decreases terrain warping at the expense of fps.

$pref::OpenGL::useMultiTexturing = "True"; Increases fps on some cards.
$pref::OpenGL::flushAfterPasses = "False"; Increases fps on some cards.

Anything else I'm missing (besides model validation) :stab:
User avatar
Plasmatic
Lead Developer
Lead Developer
 
Posts: 8367

2 Thu Mar 24, 2011 3:23 pm

User avatar
Plasmatic
Lead Developer
Lead Developer
 
Posts: 8367

3 Thu Mar 24, 2011 3:26 pm

Bah why.. TW can rot. Hopefully no one told them about Ascend.
User avatar
Armageddonv2
Ensign
Ensign
 
Posts: 49

4 Thu Mar 24, 2011 4:53 pm

Nice plas.

Though I believe the application itself is unstable and should not be used. I think they have some unfinished parts that need to be coded, that crash the app. In overall, 1.40 crashes much much more often than 1.11

Is 1.40 really worth the hard work of making it serviceable? Nofix?
User avatar
C--
Sorry....
 
Posts: 3299

5 Thu Mar 24, 2011 5:13 pm

140 is so much smoother playing than 130 or 111
Blakhart
The ultimate Iowigger!
 
Posts: 1615

6 Thu Mar 24, 2011 6:30 pm

C-- wrote:Nice plas.

Though I believe the application itself is unstable and should not be used. I think they have some unfinished parts that need to be coded, that crash the app. In overall, 1.40 crashes much much more often than 1.11


Definitely not for me. I don't think I've ever had an in-game crash using 1.40, whereas they were somewhat frequent in 1.11. The only crashes I've had are in the server list screen, and that normally happens after a server crashes and I try to reload all. Even then, it doesn't happen all to often.
(=SK=)Zorak
2nd Lieutenant
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 103

7 Fri Mar 25, 2011 3:19 am

(=SK=)Zorak wrote:
C-- wrote:Nice plas.

Though I believe the application itself is unstable and should not be used. I think they have some unfinished parts that need to be coded, that crash the app. In overall, 1.40 crashes much much more often than 1.11


Definitely not for me. I don't think I've ever had an in-game crash using 1.40, whereas they were somewhat frequent in 1.11. The only crashes I've had are in the server list screen, and that normally happens after a server crashes and I try to reload all. Even then, it doesn't happen all to often.


Yeah thats the most often crash with 1.40
I just don't know... starting to host servers with an unfinished leaked .exe which is not even beta...
User avatar
C--
Sorry....
 
Posts: 3299

8 Fri Mar 25, 2011 5:13 am

Well I dunno about hosting with it, but for client I prefer it much more than legacy.
(=SK=)Zorak
2nd Lieutenant
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 103

9 Fri Mar 25, 2011 11:42 am

Yes. Using 1.40 server is just asking for trouble. Many exploits.
NoFiXette
Captain
Captain
 
Posts: 2424

10 Sat Mar 26, 2011 5:57 am

Updated with link to patch.
User avatar
Plasmatic
Lead Developer
Lead Developer
 
Posts: 8367

11 Sat Mar 26, 2011 9:19 am

No full screen fix included?

I'd like to see an edited console.cs (with fullscreen fix) included that executes a new sp1.cs rather than overwriting autoexec.cs
Quimica
Call me Mr. Picky.
 
Posts: 1333

12 Sat Mar 26, 2011 9:23 am

Aaargh, missed that one, thanks.
User avatar
Plasmatic
Lead Developer
Lead Developer
 
Posts: 8367

13 Sat Mar 26, 2011 9:55 am

If you see green lines as a bug, you may want to fix them too.

patchlines_1_40_655.exe

:P
User avatar
Anubis
=A cantora floribella=
 
Posts: 6896

14 Sat Mar 26, 2011 9:56 am

I'm not sure it's fixable, but sometimes on the server screen there will be a random crash while refreshing the servers.
DaJ4ck3L
Crow{OZ}
 
Posts: 118

15 Sat Mar 26, 2011 10:11 am

Yeah, no luck on that one yet.
User avatar
Plasmatic
Lead Developer
Lead Developer
 
Posts: 8367

16 Sat Mar 26, 2011 10:41 am

how about a sp1.cs in core for necessary patches and a readme for $pref changes

overwriting autoexec.cs sucks
Quimica
Call me Mr. Picky.
 
Posts: 1333

17 Sat Mar 26, 2011 10:54 am

really? Never noticed that.
User avatar
Anubis
=A cantora floribella=
 
Posts: 6896

18 Sat Mar 26, 2011 11:08 am

I've never had server-screen crash. Hmm. How do you reproduce this so-called bug?
NoFiXette
Captain
Captain
 
Posts: 2424

19 Sat Mar 26, 2011 11:10 am

Quimica makes a lot of sense here. Rather than overwriting files, etc, a single script should address all fixes, without modifying any other scripts. This is just my opinion though.
NoFiXette
Captain
Captain
 
Posts: 2424

20 Sat Mar 26, 2011 11:31 am

NoFiXette wrote:I've never had server-screen crash. Hmm. How do you reproduce this so-called bug?



Just keep trying and hit refresh list or server, sooner or later it will happen.
Blakhart
The ultimate Iowigger!
 
Posts: 1615

Next

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests

cron