1.40.655 Fixes.

Discuss almost anything and everything.

Moderator: Moderators

Quimica
Call me Mr. Picky.
Posts: 1333
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2005 1:38 pm

Re: 1.40.655 Fixes.

Post by Quimica » Sat Mar 26, 2011 11:42 am

NoFiXette wrote:I've never had server-screen crash. Hmm. How do you reproduce this so-called bug?



might be a fullscreen only thing

User avatar
Plasmatic
Lead Developer
Lead Developer
Posts: 8376
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2002 11:00 pm
Location: 4th State of matter.
Contact:

Re: 1.40.655 Fixes.

Post by Plasmatic » Sat Mar 26, 2011 12:54 pm

Quimica wrote:how about a sp1.cs in core for necessary patches and a readme for $pref changes

overwriting autoexec.cs sucks

Done and reuploaded.

NoFiXette
Captain
Captain
Posts: 2425
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:22 am

Re: 1.40.655 Fixes.

Post by NoFiXette » Sat Mar 26, 2011 12:55 pm

There's a buffer overflow in the serverInfoControl rendering code.

Quimica
Call me Mr. Picky.
Posts: 1333
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2005 1:38 pm

Re: 1.40.655 Fixes.

Post by Quimica » Sat Mar 26, 2011 1:03 pm


User avatar
Plasmatic
Lead Developer
Lead Developer
Posts: 8376
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2002 11:00 pm
Location: 4th State of matter.
Contact:

Re: 1.40.655 Fixes.

Post by Plasmatic » Sat Mar 26, 2011 1:03 pm

Damnit Lemon! Fixed.

Nofix, any easy way to fix it?

Quimica
Call me Mr. Picky.
Posts: 1333
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2005 1:38 pm

Re: 1.40.655 Fixes.

Post by Quimica » Sat Mar 26, 2011 1:05 pm

unclog the buffer pipe

NoFiXette
Captain
Captain
Posts: 2425
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:22 am

Re: 1.40.655 Fixes.

Post by NoFiXette » Sat Mar 26, 2011 1:14 pm

It would appear an arbitrary buffer is being passed to the function, so when the loop code does it's thing, if it doesn't encounter the tab character, it'll continue past the 255 character buffer, eventually exhausting the heap, or encountering a tab character well past the buffer, at which point it's already done love itself, and the stack.

I was able to reproduce it by going to console, doing rebuildServerList();, then clicking on a random active server, then doing an INFO refresh while the rebuild was active.

The easy fix would be a hack that checks the length of the loop, and makes sure it doesn't exhaust the 255 length buffer. A scripted fix does not appear to be possible.

(=SK=)Zorak
2nd Lieutenant
2nd Lieutenant
Posts: 103
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2009 7:58 pm

Re: 1.40.655 Fixes.

Post by (=SK=)Zorak » Sat Mar 26, 2011 1:28 pm

I've noticed the crashes when you are in a server that crashes, and you go back out to server screen and try to refresh. That's when it crashes most for me.

I've heard that watching multiple demos does it as well.

User avatar
C--
Sorry....
Posts: 3299
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 2:32 pm

Re: 1.40.655 Fixes.

Post by C-- » Sun Mar 27, 2011 4:37 am

(=SK=)Zorak wrote:I've noticed the crashes when you are in a server that crashes, and you go back out to server screen and try to refresh. That's when it crashes most for me.

I've heard that watching multiple demos does it as well.


Demos also crashed in 1.11 so dont mind that

DaJ4ck3L
Crow{OZ}
Posts: 118
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 7:18 pm

Re: 1.40.655 Fixes.

Post by DaJ4ck3L » Sun Mar 27, 2011 4:42 am

NoFiXette wrote:The easy fix would be a hack that checks the length of the loop, and makes sure it doesn't exhaust the 255 length buffer. A scripted fix does not appear to be possible.

I'd be happy to help you test it if you do make one.

NoFiXette
Captain
Captain
Posts: 2425
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:22 am

Re: 1.40.655 Fixes.

Post by NoFiXette » Sun Mar 27, 2011 5:42 am

It doesn't seem like anyone is really interested. I mean, it'd be a real easy fix. The only tedious task would be creating the visual studio project.

User avatar
Anubis
=A cantora floribella=
Posts: 6896
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2005 3:02 pm
Location: Portugal
Contact:

Re: 1.40.655 Fixes.

Post by Anubis » Sun Mar 27, 2011 8:01 am

i'll help you with anything I can

User avatar
Plasmatic
Lead Developer
Lead Developer
Posts: 8376
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2002 11:00 pm
Location: 4th State of matter.
Contact:

Re: 1.40.655 Fixes.

Post by Plasmatic » Sun Mar 27, 2011 8:12 am

I'm interested, and I'll help any way I can.

NoFiXette
Captain
Captain
Posts: 2425
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:22 am

Re: 1.40.655 Fixes.

Post by NoFiXette » Sun Mar 27, 2011 8:38 am

I just don't want this to turn into DoSFix v.2, where I shit out a million fixes in a plugin that only 2 servers ( or clients in this case ) ever bother to use.

This particular bug is related to rendering the server info / details box, so I don't think it would address what most people seem to be describing in this thread ( which I assume is the actual server listing screen ).

DaJ4ck3L
Crow{OZ}
Posts: 118
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 7:18 pm

Re: 1.40.655 Fixes.

Post by DaJ4ck3L » Sun Mar 27, 2011 10:22 am

There is a small typo with your "IceRidgeLT.zip" fix, and I know pleanty of people who would love to see the bug fixed. :)

PS: I use your dosfix on all my servers.

Another bug I noticed in 1.40, is when a player takes an objective switch, it doesn't update the score hud.

User avatar
Plasmatic
Lead Developer
Lead Developer
Posts: 8376
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2002 11:00 pm
Location: 4th State of matter.
Contact:

Re: 1.40.655 Fixes.

Post by Plasmatic » Sun Mar 27, 2011 10:36 am

I'd use it, drives me nuts when I try to refresh server and it crashes,

Crow,the objective fix is included, but can you explain the iceridge problem?

User avatar
C--
Sorry....
Posts: 3299
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 2:32 pm

Re: 1.40.655 Fixes.

Post by C-- » Sun Mar 27, 2011 10:42 am


Quimica
Call me Mr. Picky.
Posts: 1333
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2005 1:38 pm

Re: 1.40.655 Fixes.

Post by Quimica » Sun Mar 27, 2011 10:46 am

ban c--

he is a worthless poster



ban crow too for not providing info love worthless piece of shit he is


the issue is this plas

IceRidegeLT instead of IceRidgeLT

User avatar
C--
Sorry....
Posts: 3299
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 2:32 pm

Re: 1.40.655 Fixes.

Post by C-- » Sun Mar 27, 2011 10:52 am

Quimica wrote:ban c--

he is a worthless poster



ban crow too for not providing info loveing worthless piece of doggy doo he is


the issue is this plas

IceRidegeLT instead of IceRidgeLT


Mr.Picky :boogie:

User avatar
Plasmatic
Lead Developer
Lead Developer
Posts: 8376
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2002 11:00 pm
Location: 4th State of matter.
Contact:

Re: 1.40.655 Fixes.

Post by Plasmatic » Sun Mar 27, 2011 6:10 pm

I was about to call you a name because the fix was already there, but then I double checked... It's IceRidgeLT.zip, not IceRidegeLT.zip :stab:
I made a typo correcting the typo

Fixed, repacked and uploaded.

Post Reply