1.40.655 Fixes.

Discuss almost anything and everything.

Moderator: Moderators

21 Sat Mar 26, 2011 11:42 am

NoFiXette wrote:I've never had server-screen crash. Hmm. How do you reproduce this so-called bug?



might be a fullscreen only thing
Quimica
Call me Mr. Picky.
 
Posts: 1333

22 Sat Mar 26, 2011 12:54 pm

Quimica wrote:how about a sp1.cs in core for necessary patches and a readme for $pref changes

overwriting autoexec.cs sucks

Done and reuploaded.
User avatar
Plasmatic
Lead Developer
Lead Developer
 
Posts: 8367

23 Sat Mar 26, 2011 12:55 pm

There's a buffer overflow in the serverInfoControl rendering code.
NoFiXette
Captain
Captain
 
Posts: 2424

24 Sat Mar 26, 2011 1:03 pm

Quimica
Call me Mr. Picky.
 
Posts: 1333

25 Sat Mar 26, 2011 1:03 pm

Damnit Lemon! Fixed.

Nofix, any easy way to fix it?
User avatar
Plasmatic
Lead Developer
Lead Developer
 
Posts: 8367

26 Sat Mar 26, 2011 1:05 pm

unclog the buffer pipe
Quimica
Call me Mr. Picky.
 
Posts: 1333

27 Sat Mar 26, 2011 1:14 pm

It would appear an arbitrary buffer is being passed to the function, so when the loop code does it's thing, if it doesn't encounter the tab character, it'll continue past the 255 character buffer, eventually exhausting the heap, or encountering a tab character well past the buffer, at which point it's already done love itself, and the stack.

I was able to reproduce it by going to console, doing rebuildServerList();, then clicking on a random active server, then doing an INFO refresh while the rebuild was active.

The easy fix would be a hack that checks the length of the loop, and makes sure it doesn't exhaust the 255 length buffer. A scripted fix does not appear to be possible.
NoFiXette
Captain
Captain
 
Posts: 2424

28 Sat Mar 26, 2011 1:28 pm

I've noticed the crashes when you are in a server that crashes, and you go back out to server screen and try to refresh. That's when it crashes most for me.

I've heard that watching multiple demos does it as well.
(=SK=)Zorak
2nd Lieutenant
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 103

29 Sun Mar 27, 2011 4:37 am

(=SK=)Zorak wrote:I've noticed the crashes when you are in a server that crashes, and you go back out to server screen and try to refresh. That's when it crashes most for me.

I've heard that watching multiple demos does it as well.


Demos also crashed in 1.11 so dont mind that
User avatar
C--
Sorry....
 
Posts: 3299

30 Sun Mar 27, 2011 4:42 am

NoFiXette wrote:The easy fix would be a hack that checks the length of the loop, and makes sure it doesn't exhaust the 255 length buffer. A scripted fix does not appear to be possible.

I'd be happy to help you test it if you do make one.
DaJ4ck3L
Crow{OZ}
 
Posts: 118

31 Sun Mar 27, 2011 5:42 am

It doesn't seem like anyone is really interested. I mean, it'd be a real easy fix. The only tedious task would be creating the visual studio project.
NoFiXette
Captain
Captain
 
Posts: 2424

32 Sun Mar 27, 2011 8:01 am

i'll help you with anything I can
User avatar
Anubis
=A cantora floribella=
 
Posts: 6896

33 Sun Mar 27, 2011 8:12 am

I'm interested, and I'll help any way I can.
User avatar
Plasmatic
Lead Developer
Lead Developer
 
Posts: 8367

34 Sun Mar 27, 2011 8:38 am

I just don't want this to turn into DoSFix v.2, where I shit out a million fixes in a plugin that only 2 servers ( or clients in this case ) ever bother to use.

This particular bug is related to rendering the server info / details box, so I don't think it would address what most people seem to be describing in this thread ( which I assume is the actual server listing screen ).
NoFiXette
Captain
Captain
 
Posts: 2424

35 Sun Mar 27, 2011 10:22 am

There is a small typo with your "IceRidgeLT.zip" fix, and I know pleanty of people who would love to see the bug fixed. :)

PS: I use your dosfix on all my servers.

Another bug I noticed in 1.40, is when a player takes an objective switch, it doesn't update the score hud.
DaJ4ck3L
Crow{OZ}
 
Posts: 118

36 Sun Mar 27, 2011 10:36 am

I'd use it, drives me nuts when I try to refresh server and it crashes,

Crow,the objective fix is included, but can you explain the iceridge problem?
User avatar
Plasmatic
Lead Developer
Lead Developer
 
Posts: 8367

37 Sun Mar 27, 2011 10:42 am

User avatar
C--
Sorry....
 
Posts: 3299

38 Sun Mar 27, 2011 10:46 am

ban c--

he is a worthless poster



ban crow too for not providing info love worthless piece of shit he is


the issue is this plas

IceRidegeLT instead of IceRidgeLT
Quimica
Call me Mr. Picky.
 
Posts: 1333

39 Sun Mar 27, 2011 10:52 am

Quimica wrote:ban c--

he is a worthless poster



ban crow too for not providing info loveing worthless piece of doggy doo he is


the issue is this plas

IceRidegeLT instead of IceRidgeLT


Mr.Picky :boogie:
User avatar
C--
Sorry....
 
Posts: 3299

40 Sun Mar 27, 2011 6:10 pm

I was about to call you a name because the fix was already there, but then I double checked... It's IceRidgeLT.zip, not IceRidegeLT.zip :stab:
I made a typo correcting the typo

Fixed, repacked and uploaded.
User avatar
Plasmatic
Lead Developer
Lead Developer
 
Posts: 8367

PreviousNext

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest

cron