Tribes 1 Catalogue

Discuss almost anything and everything.

Moderator: Moderators

1 Sat Jul 05, 2014 11:19 am

http://www.tribes0.com/Tribes_BMP/

Other than this list of images, Plas, were you able to obtain a list of the items for mapping? I had a feeling the inevitable was coming, just didn't know they were going to pull it that soon. I've been searching the web and this gem came up. Google had it nowhere in site, but Bing listed it as #2 on their list. Thank God! Unfortunately its not the one I'm seeking but a lot close to anything else I was getting.

I'm going to start a list of images, but if there is anything still out there, please let me know.

Later
User avatar
virus
Ensign
Ensign
 
Posts: 64

2 Sat Jul 05, 2014 12:07 pm

I had a feeling the inevitable was coming, just didn't know they were going to pull it that soon.


:?:
User avatar
EvanVolm
1st Lieutenant
1st Lieutenant
 
Posts: 288

3 Sat Jul 05, 2014 3:54 pm

http://theexiled.pwnageservers.com/file ... 20List.xls

That's an Excel spreadsheet with every file from Tribes listed in it, and what .vol it is in.
User avatar
Krogoth
Lt Commander
Lt Commander
 
Posts: 402

4 Sat Jul 05, 2014 4:33 pm

Looks like IGN finally pulled the plug on PlanetTribes and friends. You'll have to pull it up from the web archive: http://web.archive.org/web/200512120941 ... m/catalog/
User avatar
noxwizard
Commander
Commander
 
Posts: 784

5 Mon Jul 07, 2014 7:52 am

Tribes 1 Catalogue

Thanks guys. That archive site really helped a lot. I feel I should update the quality of images with screenshots taken in OpenGL. Some day.
User avatar
virus
Ensign
Ensign
 
Posts: 64

6 Tue Jul 15, 2014 10:30 am

noxwizard wrote:Looks like IGN finally pulled the plug on PlanetTribes and friends. You'll have to pull it up from the web archive: http://web.archive.org/web/200512120941 ... m/catalog/


What is Tribes Terrain Editor used for? Editing maps or terrain textures?
D4M45T3R
Spambot in training
Spambot in training
 
Posts: 16

7 Tue Jul 15, 2014 10:38 am

Looks like terrain textures.
User avatar
EvanVolm
1st Lieutenant
1st Lieutenant
 
Posts: 288

8 Sun Jul 20, 2014 12:44 am

I thought all terrain textures are already made and there's no source files so you could edit them the way you like.
D4M45T3R
Spambot in training
Spambot in training
 
Posts: 16

9 Mon Jul 21, 2014 12:04 pm

The terrain editor I believe is used to change the type of "terrain" the map has. Big hills, medium hills, small hills. Sharp hills, lots of slopes, flat. I also think this is where you may cut a hole or patch over a hole in the map. Although I haven't been very successful at patching said holes in maps such as Raindance.
User avatar
virus
Ensign
Ensign
 
Posts: 64

10 Sat Jul 26, 2014 4:27 am

what is world editor used for then?
D4M45T3R
Spambot in training
Spambot in training
 
Posts: 16

11 Wed Feb 04, 2015 12:19 am

  • [f1] Hides the Mission Editor huds (like observer, except you can still move shit around).
  • [f2] Show Mission Editor Inspector (show/edit properties of individually selected objects).
  • [f3] Show Mission Editor Creator (lists all objects you can add to the map in categories).
  • [f4] Show Mission Editor TED (Terrain Elevation Detail, anything you do on this screen will make your map client-side).
  • [f5] Show Game Mode (Hide the editor gui, show play mode gui, control player or observer camera instead of editor camera).
  • [f9] Toggle Mission Editor Help (I didn't know this existed until right now).
  • [o] Toggle Mission Editor Options (allows you to choose the size of grid you want objects to snap to when you drag them around).
I believe the first 3 options are all considered part of the "World Editor". The 4th is Terrain Editor, etc...
Perrinoia
Suggestion bot 10,000
 
Posts: 11185

12 Thu Feb 05, 2015 2:09 pm

If you want to avoid client sided maps, i'd recommend copying the terrain file first so that you have a backup. Whenever you change anything (including lighting), the map will become client sided.
robindegen
I ril pr0 men
 
Posts: 6698

13 Thu Feb 05, 2015 4:58 pm

Holy moly, I just noticed how old Crow's post was before my response.
Perrinoia
Suggestion bot 10,000
 
Posts: 11185

14 Thu Feb 05, 2015 9:36 pm

That ain't Crow.
User avatar
EvanVolm
1st Lieutenant
1st Lieutenant
 
Posts: 288

15 Sat Feb 07, 2015 10:11 pm

Holy Moly, I just noticed that wasn't Crow!
Perrinoia
Suggestion bot 10,000
 
Posts: 11185

16 Mon Feb 09, 2015 12:07 am

Great googly moogley, I just noticed you just noticing!
User avatar
Plasmatic
Lead Developer
Lead Developer
 
Posts: 8375

17 Sat Feb 28, 2015 9:42 pm

I just noticed that you noticed. Interesting.
DaJ4ck3L
Crow{OZ}
 
Posts: 118

18 Thu Mar 19, 2015 7:09 am

DaJ4ck3L wrote:I just noticed that you noticed. Interesting.

Noted.
Perrinoia
Suggestion bot 10,000
 
Posts: 11185

19 Mon Mar 23, 2015 1:42 pm

Noted your note.
User avatar
Plasmatic
Lead Developer
Lead Developer
 
Posts: 8375

20 Sat Mar 28, 2015 9:30 am

Then why do I feel denoted?
Perrinoia
Suggestion bot 10,000
 
Posts: 11185


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest

cron